06 Jeep Wrangler X Bad Miss fire

David Overbay

TJ Enthusiast
So I got my new computer in today and it was supposed to be pre flashed. I installed it and the jeep wouldent turn over so luckily i have a guy local that said he wouled re flash. So i threw the old computer in and limped it about a mile to the shop changed out the computer and they tried to reflash and still nothing. Besides that the mechanic said he thinks its something different. It has a bad miss and am not getting anything from injectors 3 and 4. When full is poured in it runs like a champ. What i have done so far to fix the problem i have put in new plugs, fuel rail, cam positioning sensor, replaced all o2 sensors, and knocked the cats out. Cant get nothing on a scanner. Also we have checked wiring and nothing seems to be wrong with it were getting power just no fuel. BTW im no mechanic so if this makes no since thats why.

My guess is that it's related to the new ECU, not something else. I personally would bring it back to that mechanic and have them check it out.

The new ECU wont do anything the mechanic pulled it apart and there is a missing component in it. Besides that we put the old ECU in it and he thinks that theres a different problem but don't know where to start looking because if the old ECU is bad he said that it shouldn't even start and if it does then it shouldn't stay running.

It might be worth buying a used ECU for the right setup (manual or auto tyranny) and correct year. Plug that in and see if it works. That would be a good way to isolate whether it's the ECU or not.

It might be worth buying a used ECU for the right setup (manual or auto tyranny) and correct year. Plug that in and see if it works. That would be a good way to isolate whether it's the ECU or not.
I have tried to find one but cant since the 06 was the only year to have that exact ECU its pretty hard.

I have tried to find one but cant since the 06 was the only year to have that exact ECU its pretty hard.