112dB's 2002 Sahara Stereo Install Saga

112dB

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I finally finished my stereo this month after over a year of planning and 7-ish months of work in my free time. I'm going to go through the entire install piece by piece, one piece per post at a time. I'm going to try and provide a fair bit of detail to help anyone who may be considering a similar project, because so many of you on this site were helpful in answering my questions or documenting your projects in your own threads.

My goals were to get clean, loud sound while retaining a stock appearance.

Here's the full product list:
I also used Blue Sea Systems and KnuKonceptz fuseholders and various KnuConceptz gear. RCAs are by Stinger and the main power cabling is a Stinger Wiring Kit.

Once upon a time I was a semi-professional stereo installer (I got paid to work in a shop and had my own shop for a little bit, but it was never really my main meal ticket). My stereo installation passion was re-ignited in part from watching Mark's YouTube Channel and Dean and Fernando's YouTube Channel. (Thanks Guys!)

The Components in the list above were all purchased from Crutchfield, except for the DSR-1 which I bought from 5-Star Car Stereo in Clearwater FL. The KnuKonceptz and other installation supplies were sourced from the vendor directly or bought via Amazon.

I did not sound deaden the tub at this time. I may decide to do so in the future but as I plan to drive it with the top off most of the time it, it may not be needed.

IMG_7455 cropped.jpg

Last edited:
I finally finished my stereo this month after over a year of planning and 7-ish months of work in my free time. I'm going to go through the entire install piece by piece, one piece per post at a time. I'm going to try and provide a fair bit of detail to help anyone who may be considering a similar project, because so many of you on this site were helpful in answering my questions or documenting your projects in your own threads.