1997 TJ wrangler check engine light

Jakob McElhaney

I am new to this jeep forum and I am seeking help. I own a 1997 TJ wrangler Sport. Inline 6 with an auto trans. I recently had tube fenders installed along with a 20" light bar. When I went to pick up my jeep after everything was all said and done, it would not start. Turn the key over, none of the gauges would even move. I was very confused with what was going on. After 2 days of brainstorming what could be wrong with it, I get a text saying it is running fine now, but nothing was changed. It just randomly started. After driving it for around 2 days, my CEL came on. NOTHING, mechanically is acting weird with the jeep. I had the codes come up 12,43,43,43,43,43. I know 43 is for a misfire but the jeep is running fine. I drive it daily with no problems. Recently the CEL has been flashing at random times. I am just wondering what could be causing this? I personally feel like it is electrical since the jeep is running fine. I am just looking for opinions? The only electrical stuff that had been done to it was getting the light bar installed, I had LED lights placed under the dash and for the dome light for my sound bar, and a fuel pump spliced in. Thanks for the input and help

I would assume that the 12 popped up due to the battery being unhooked while the electrical work was being done. Have the same codes come back after it was cleared? Why did you have a fuel pump spliced in??

Sounds to me like maybe it was indeed just the battery connections.

I would try clearing the check engine light codes and seeing if they come back. I'm also curious as to why you had a fuel pump "spliced in"?

BTW, here is a quote from Jerry Bransford regarding the code 43 misfire issue: