2 questions

PriddyBoy

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
2 questions. #1 Are throttle body spacers worth it? #2 I’m getting around 150 miles per tank, I’m rolling on 35’s With 5 speed and I6. I understand that it’s a jeep on big tires just curious if that sounds right? I’m new to keeps and just got this 2004 Rubicon. I’ve purchased everything to to do a complete tune plugs, boots, and coil pack, new serpentine belt. Also going to service the diffs. The jeep has 150k miles on it, not sure when what was done. Anything I should be aware of? Someone told me to do a dry steer test, can you explain this to me.

I’m getting the tires balanced today from the advice from my previous post, thanks guys.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Reactions: StG58 and Chris
#1 Don't waste the money on the throttle body spacer. #2 150 miles is not good. Do you know what size gears you are running?

Reactions: StG58
Throttle body spacers do not work, they are a scam. You can read more about it here if you feel so inclined: Do throttle body spacers work on Jeep Wrangler TJs?

If you have a Rubicon, you have 4.10 gears from the factory. That isn't nearly enough for 35" tires.

150 miles a tank isn't good, but have you considered that with 35" tires, your speedometer is way off. Because of that, you're likely getting more miles to the tank thank you think you are, but it's not showing correctly since your speedometer (and therefore odometer) are not reporting correctly.

8934e451bc8cffe216223f20e87886b7.jpg

As for the dry steering test, that is when you get underneath your Jeep and have someone sit in the driver seat. Have them start the vehicle and while it's in park, aggressively turn the steering wheel back-and-forth over-and-over, while you're underneath the Jeep inspecting the steering components. Watch the steering move back-and-forth and look for any visible signs of wear, any loose bolts, or any audible noises / clunks.