2003 4.0 I6 engine rebuild

My jeep is a 2003 Rubicon. The engine is burning 2 quarts of oil per week when I drive it to work. I have performed a differential compression test and confirmed that there's major blow-by on the rings in the #3 cylinder.

I've really not found a crate motor that I have high confidence in. ATK seems to be the only game in town (also what NAPA carries last time I checked) and good reviews of them are hard to find. The local Jasper Engines guys want $4-5k to swap it if the engine is available (which, last time I checked, it was not).

So I am proceeding down the route of doing it myself. I'm no expert, but I've built several engines in the past, including the straight 6 in my old CJ-7.

1. Before I proceed down this path, does anyone know of a good crate engine supplier with a good reputation?

2. I am also considering stroking the engine while I'm in there. Anyone done it? These guys seem to have really nice kits: http://www.cleggengine.com/performance-engine-rebuild-kits/stroker-kits/jeep-4-0-stroker-kits.html.

I'm also considering this sweet header and pipe from aFe: https://afepower.com/afe-power-48-48020-yn-twisted-steel-header-connection-pipe-race-series. It's pricey, but I'm highly suspicious that all of my catalytic converters are hosed up with burned oil residue. and replacing the three of them will add up fast. I have a Borla cat-back that I will probably use in conjunction with it.

3. Lastly, anyone had a 4.0 professionally tuned after major upgrades? Please advise.

I like the looks off the striker kit but in my opinion if your wanting more power and your in the market for a new motor I would just do a swap to ls or hemi. That’s my plan I have an 06 that is in need of more power. I’m thinking about swapping for the 5.7 hemi.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk