2004 TJ strange smell

loganhamdan21

So first I just wanna put it out there that this is my first post, and this jeep is my first car as well. I’ve been driving it since last September, but before that my dad had drove it since I was a freshman, I’m a senior now. Anyways, I have an ‘04 TJ with a manual transmission and 217,000 miles. It has an inline 6 4.0L. This jeep has always been reliable to me, but here lately I’ve had a couple issues with it, the first time being when I took it off roading into a trail while I was swimming (probly not a good idea since the car is 13 years old and almost has 220k). Soon after leaving the trail, Russel started making this nasty squeaking noise coming from under the cabin. I dropped it back into 2-wheel and slowly drove it around a culdesac until it eventually stopped, I figured it was probly something that got stuck on the drive shaft or something, but in all honesty I suspect that it’s the transfer case. So yeah that’s a problem, but it’s not the only one I’m dealing with. I just got back from my girlfriends house a few minutes ago, and its about a 45 minute drive. I’m not gonna lie, I have a lead foot so the entire time I’m driving I’ll hold 85-90mph. But while I’m driving, randomly I’ll get this strange smell in the cabin. It’s almost like a burning clutch, but my clutch is new. And I don’t use the AC because the freon is empty and I feel that rolling the windows down is both a cheaper and more effective alternative. The heat isn’t running either because it’s the middle of the summer. Duh. I really can’t think of what it could possibly be. I just need some help on some ideas of where I could start. And yes I am somewhat of a newbie with all of this, but if you say something and Idk what it means, the internet is a beautiful thing so I’ll figure it out