97 TJ Build Thread: From 'I'm Keeping it Stock' to a 5.9 Magnum swap

Dan_Goodwin

Supporting Member
As much lurking as I've done over the past few years, I figured it was past time to contribute to this fantastic community. Bear with me as I update 1.5 years of TJ ownership.

The quick backstory: I've always loved off-roading and have wanted a Jeep since I was a kid. I am a hobbyist mechanic / metal fabricator and have dabbled in a little bit of everything, from older 2 stroke Seadoos to 4 wheelers to automotive stuff. My off road rig is a 2004 Yamaha Rhino with a +6" long travel, lots of other aftermarket parts and a custom cage, built by myself. After graduating from Auburn with a Building Science degree in 2016 and getting married in 2017, my wife and I started discussing getting a fun 3rd vehicle and when a friends FIL's 97 TJ came up for sale we decided to jump on it.

The Jeep in question is a 97 TJ SE with the 2.5L, 5 speed and 132k miles on it and had been mainly used as a grocery getter and hunting rig. The PO had owned the Jeep since 2004 and had taken pretty good care of it. The only modifications it had was 31x10.50 Kenda Klever MTs, 2.5" RC lift and a 3" body lift. It had actually been sold to another friend months before I got it and he'd installed the RC lift and purchased the 1.25" body lift, but never got around to swapping the body lift out. It'd sat since he bought it and offered it to sell it to me for what he had in it. Here it is the day we brought it home:

015e8822cccc81d4ab447c4d7a696dc6990876abad.jpg

0125350246ffdf48fb6d2a80e11a7deef3d3f02a29.jpg

01dd46d9c26e652a66022f58850cc2c90b0cbb80f3.jpg

Overall it was a pretty clean rust free TJ that just needed some good TLC. My goal from the start was to craft a solid daily driver TJ that could also hit some mild trails when I didn't want to take the Rhino out. Up to this point I knew about Jeeps but didn't really know the minute details, so it was time to learn.