97 TJ died and won't start

Phyrmon

Good afternoon all!

I am a new member, but my son and I have been haunting the forums for a few moths now, since he purchased a 1997 2.4l Wrangler.

One night we were driving to the store and he was struggling to maintain any speed. Said he “has it floored” and the Jeep barely chugged along. It stalled and he was able to start it and drive around the corner before it died again. Told it home and it started long enough to back into the driveway and that is the last time it has run.

It’s been to the mechanic, who involved two other shops for help, and everyone is at a loss. We loaded up the parts cannon, fired that bad boy, and loaded it up again. Still no joy. The engine cranks over and seems like it wants to catch, but t just won’t.

New fuel pump.
New computer
New distributor
New CPS
New wires
New fuel injectors
New coil
New pugs, they have been fouled twice since changing them.
Changed the engine grounds

Fuel lines are good.
Compression is good.
Fuel pressure is good.
It’s getting spark.

Checked the fuses and relays.
Timing system was checked and is okay.

Somewhere, about two months ago, I saw someone, somewhere mention that they found a plug (it was the big one near the computer on the firewall) that had gone bad. I can’t find that thread again. Does it sound familiar to anyone?

This is a hugely frustrating issue - but it’s been quite the eye opener for my son being a new Jeep owner. I’ve had a ‘74 Cj 5 and a ‘98 Wrangler) it was at the shop for 9 weeks and these are mechanics who I’ve used for 20 years that know what they are doing, not “my buddy who is a knowledgeable gear head”.

Thanks everyone.

Any thoughts?

This may seem basic, but have you checked all the power connections from the battery to fuse block to starter etc. for continuity? Also, is the battery fully charged and able to deliver the required CCA's to start the motor?