'97 tj high idle

Neskie Crawler

TJ Enthusiast
It just popped into my mind that this past summer when I bought my 1st Jeep, while off road and only while steep hill crawling in 4H or 2wd going at very low speed I noticed I could take my foot off the pedal and She will idle up to the top steady and then on level, a fairly high idle, I didn't ck the tach, but a fairly high rev that goes away after the motor cools some w/fresh air. I've got good coolant and of course the direct drive fan always runs. I've had the motor hot plenty of times but that is the only scenario where this happens. Thoughts? I'm only a backyard mechanic at best but thinking an o2 sensor or computer? thanks.

Your idle air motor might be dirty. I took mine off the throttle body and cleaned it with a tooth brush and a little gasoline.

X2

This is the very first thing you should check (and clean) when diagnosing a high idle issue. The IAC is notorious for getting gunked up and making the idle high on these wranglers.

Clean it and see if that solves your issue. If that's not the issue then I would report back. Just trying to start with the simplest scenario.

Thank You for the quick replies. So that could make it idle higher just on occasions like I described? Is it pretty easy to take off and get to?

Thank You for the quick replies. So that could make it idle higher just on occasions like I described? Is it pretty easy to take off and get to?

Yes, very easy to take off and get to. When the IAC is gunked up and dirty the number one sign is always higher idles which can happen constantly or just on occasion.

This is a common issue so I'll post a how-to guide for this tonight on the forum and make a link to it in this thread

Reactions: Neskie Crawler
That is SUPER cool. That will help me out and if it so common I hope it helps many others out as well. Awesome.

That is SUPER cool. That will help me out and if it so common I hope it helps many others out as well. Awesome.