A/C Leak Test Indication (Possibly Evaporator?)

lrb6805

Die Living
Supporting Member
Hello,
I am finaly attempting to fix the A/C in the 2006 LJ after 2 years and living in Texas. Currently, If I recharge the system, it will blow cold for a couple of days then warm up again. I ran a dye test and can not find any dye leaking inside the engine bay while following all the A/C pipes.

I got a Sniffer and received no alert until I stuck the probe inside the passenger side vent and windshield defroster vent. The passenger side vent lights up immediately on the lowest setting. I believe this is indicating the Evaporator is bad and needs to be replaced (and might as well do the heater core at the same time). Is this a correct assumption?

I have very little knowledge of A/C systems, so if anyone has any input, please feel free to tell me your thoughts. Thanks!

I may have to hunt down a leak in my system. Which sniffer did you get?

And, yes, might as well do both.

Bummer!

I also ordered the Evaporator and Heater Core from “performanceradiators.com”. I saw they were recently recommended as a high quality replacement

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

I deal with performance radiators a lot with one of the largest collision repair groups. Our return percentage with them is less than 1% on domestic vehicle. When you take into consideration we spend well into 6 figures with them yearly that’s a lot of product we buy from them. On foreign vehicles they are not really worth a crap, especially European models.

In the same boat. Been to 2 different AC shops, and also looked myself, but can not find the leak. Charge lasts about 3 weeks then blows warm again. Doing the heater core too. Fun times!

In the same boat. Been to 2 different AC shops, and also looked myself, but can not find the leak. Charge lasts about 3 weeks then blows warm again. Doing the heater core too. Fun times!
After you're done with yours do you want to fix my ac also :ROFLMAO: