Add Fuse Box - Check my Plan?

Rick2004LJ

TJ Enthusiast
2004 LJ Trail Rig - cleaning up the accessory wiring and just want to ground truth my plan. I will admit I am not an electrician but have a basic understanding of automotive electrical wiring, fusing, use of relays etc.

Plan is to add 2 new small fuse boxes (with negative bus) - 1 always hot and 1 switched with relay. Current needs are just for CB & GMRS radios, USB outlet, and Sirius Radio, but will be adding some lights in the future. Winch is wired direct to battery. For
Firewall penetration I plan to make a new hole on passenger side firewall under the battery per spod instructions and using the 1" Daystar Firewall boot.

Power for both boxes will come directly off the battery with fused wire - like this example:
Jeep Fuse Box Relay 6.2.2021.JPG

Q1 - Plan is to run the negative bus wire from fuse boxes back to neg battery terminal, is that best way? Or should it go to the main ground screw on firewall or to a ground source inside cab?

New Fuse Box mounting location - I would like the new fuse boxes inside the cab for ease of wiring, short wire runs, etc.
Q2 - Is it OK to mount the fuse boxes inside cab instead of under the hood?

Assuming it is OK I was trying to decide where to mount them but space is a little tight behind dash/glove compartment - So I came up with this hairbrained scheme...

We never use the glove compartment so my first thought was to remove the compartment portion from the backside of the door - glove compartment door just becomes a hatch to access new & stock fuse boxes, wiring etc. Still not any convenient spots to mount new boxes. In messing around with the removed compartment I realized I could mount it directly to the frame around the glove compartment so it is stationary - only the door opens and compartment stays put.
Glove Compartment.jpg