adjusting clutch pedal tension

So I've been driving my 97 Jeep TJ for 4 years now and I've developed a problem from pushing on the clutch. I get a pain in the ball of my foot right where the small clutch pedal makes contact. The pedal pushes with a lot of tension (doesn't seem excessive - probably normal) and I wonder if there is a way to reduce the tension so it pushes in easier. I love driving manual, but have to be able to walk too. Would love any thoughts on this.

BTW - the other thought I had is a replacement, much wider clutch pedal pad, but I don't see any out there. Was thinking of making one as a last resort.

So I've been driving my 97 Jeep TJ for 4 years now and I've developed a problem from pushing on the clutch. I get a pain in the ball of my foot right where the small clutch pedal makes contact. The pedal pushes with a lot of tension (doesn't seem excessive - probably normal) and I wonder if there is a way to reduce the tension so it pushes in easier. I love driving manual, but have to be able to walk too. Would love any thoughts on this.

BTW - the other thought I had is a replacement, much wider clutch pedal pad, but I don't see any out there. Was thinking of making one as a last resort.
Hey, I'm new to this forum but I've installed a new clutch, pressure plate, throw out bearing (TOB) - aka release bearing, master/slave clutch cylinder on my manual 99 TJ but I don't believe there is a way to adjust the "pressure" on the pedal. That pressure is from the spring tension of your pressure-plate as well as the TOB on the shaft inside the bell housing. If you really need to reduce the pedal pressure, I'd say a new pressure plate and TOB would give you the best result but that means pulling the tranny.

Reactions: Chris