Advantages of Solid Axle over IFS???

Squatch

Master Thread Derailer
Supporting Member
Following behind a TJ today on I-5 got me to thinking: What are the advantages to the TJ's solid front axle over an IFS? I have very little experience with any sort of serious off road challenges, but I do have some thoughts and preconceived notions on the subject. I would like to pose the question to folks who have real world experience off road, to which there seem to be more than a few on this forum. So...how 'bout it?

The only real advantages to solid axles could be attributed to off-road performance. For an on-road passenger vehicle (especially a daily driver), IFS is far superior, especially when it comes to handling. The only real on-road benefit I could see to solid axles would be if you're towing or carrying tremendous amounts of weight and need a truck with big tires (or dual tires).

IFS is inherently more complex than solid axles in terms of maintenance of course. Keep in mind that all of those off-road buggies and race trucks as far as I'm aware use a solid rear axle, but IFS in the front.

Now if you want to talk about rock crawling, I may be wrong, but I'm not sure any of those big rock crawling rigs are using IFS.

Be thankful your Jeep has solid axles. They really don't ride that bad IMHO, and they are so easy to work on.

Simplicity for sure :)
But it's also been proven to excel offroad, forcing weight to the opposite tire via the axle.
But as with anything, ride quality suffers some for offroad ability.

Reactions: Chris
The only real advantages to solid axles could be attributed to off-road performance. For an on-road passenger vehicle (especially a daily driver), IFS is far superior, especially when it comes to handling. The only real on-road benefit I could see to solid axles would be if you're towing or carrying tremendous amounts of weight and need a truck with big tires (or dual tires).