Again with the CEL! (P0421)

BoldlyGoing

TJ Addict
So, right on schedule (just before I have to go in for emissions testing every year) popping P0421 this time which is a new one on me.

So now we play the maybe it’s a Cat, maybe it’s a plug, maybe an O2 sensor game. Pulled the battery cable yesterday to see if it would come back, sure enough, it popped again today.

Any tips to tracking this down? I have a spare new Bank 1 O2 sensor, so I figure I’ll try that first.

Can you even buy just a mini-cat? Have I mentioned I hate this nonsense emission BS?

No symptoms while driving.

Emissions suck and worthless really. I know those sensors are expensive but if you can I’d pop ‘em both in. I am no mechanic but it seems to me the cat will bust apart to cause an issue and you will hear the rattle or smell the burning. Hopefully someone will chime in and confirm or call me a liar before you change the sensors for nothing.

Emissions suck and worthless really. I know those sensors are expensive but if you can I’d pop ‘em both in. I am no mechanic but it seems to me the cat will bust apart to cause an issue and you will hear the rattle or smell the burning. Hopefully someone will chime in and confirm or call me a liar before you change the sensors for nothing.

Worthless yes, except that I can’t renew my registration without passsing.

Here’s hoping the O2 sensors do the trick. Really not wanting to drop $300 on new cats.

Don't you wish you lived where I live? No emissions, no inspections... nothing.

Now you'll understand why I'm gutting ALL of my emissions and disabling the systems via the PCM.

You have NGK sensors, right?

If so, it very well could be your cats. Those pre-cats seem to start getting iffy around 100k miles. You can't just buy one pre-cat to my knowledge, but a full replacement pre-cat downpipe is only around $300.

Now you'll understand why I'm gutting ALL of my emissions and disabling the systems via the PCM.