Aluminum vs Steel Bumpers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacket4256

TJ Enthusiast
So I’m new to all this Jeep stuff but been reading a lot and have been learning a lot. I have read through some members build threads and I am kinda lost here.

I’m kinda lost here on the bumper situation when it comes to steel vs a aluminum one, does the weight really matter ? Does weight savings beat out the strength ?

I know I wanna do a stubby bumper with a winch mount but lost on which route I should go ?

Last edited:
So I’m new to all this Jeep stuff but been reading a lot and have been learning a lot. I have read through some members build threads and I am kinda lost here.

I’m kinda lost here on the bumper situation when it comes to steel vs a aluminum one, does the weight really put weigh the strength in this aspect.

I know I wanna do a stubby bumper with a winch mount but lost on which route I should go ?
Savvy, genright, or UCF. I’m sure there are other other brands.

Savvy being the best.

Your second paragraph is a little difficult to decipher.

Last edited:
Savvy is going to be the strongest of the aluminum bumpers. Keeping the Jeep light is very beneficial to it's overall performance. Using well designed aluminum parts is a very good way to achieve this. Savvy is easily the best there is for the TJ.

Between those two, Barnes. It has more attachments to the frame.
It seems nice ( Barnes ) in the long run also may be about same price fishbone needs another 120 for winch mount, and Barnes is only 30 but just needs coating or paint.

would the savvy be significantly better than the Barnes worth the extra 250 bucks.

It seems nice ( Barnes ) in the long run also may be about same price fishbone needs another 120 for winch mount, and Barnes is only 30 but just needs coating or paint.

would the savvy be significantly better than the Barnes worth the extra 250 bucks.
Hard to answer that without comparing the two from a emgineers point of view.