Are East Coast Gear chromoly axles any good? Are there better / cheaper options?

Modoc Guy

Jack of all trades, master of none
Supporting Member
I'm shopping for chromoly dana 30 front axles. It's a stock front axle, soon to get gears, and probably a locker. And I wanted to do the axles as well.

So are east coast gear axles any good? They take the bigger u-joints, the 760's IIRC. Front set with u-joints will run about $550.

I'm trying to get the best I can afford, and I'm only running 33's. And the more I think about it, the more I want to stay on 33's. My tires are fully stuffed at the bump stops with my basically 3 1/2" net lift, and I don't want to spend any more money lift wise.

So, opinions?

Not a direct comparison, but I am running Dana 60 axles front and rear. All the shafts are 35 spline ECGS CrMo. I have been running them since March 2016 with no problems. This includes three 10 day trips to Moab, a 3 day trip to Hot Springs AR, and countless local wheeling day trips here in the Central Texas Hill Country. Hopefully you get some feedback from someone with a Dana 30. I can say that ECGS is a great supplier. I have had nothing but positive experiences with them.

I'm shopping for chromoly dana 30 front axles. It's a stock front axle, soon to get gears, and probably a locker. And I wanted to do the axles as well.

So are east coast gear axles any good? They take the bigger u-joints, the 760's IIRC. Front set with u-joints will run about $550.

I'm trying to get the best I can afford, and I'm only running 33's. And the more I think about it, the more I want to stay on 33's. My tires are fully stuffed at the bump stops with my basically 3 1/2" net lift, and I don't want to spend any more money lift wise.

So, opinions?
I'm considering these: Amazon.com: Yukon Gear & Axle (YA W24110) Replacement Axle Kit for Jeep XJ/TJ/YJ Dana 30 Front Differential 4340 Chrome-Moly: Automotive

Like you, I'll be sticking with 33s.