Basic recovery gear kit?

Daron

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I have looked around the forum, and see alot of items that people keep in their jeep for recovering vehicles. Im new to the Jeep scene, and would like to have the advice from experienced members. What are the basic recovery tools that you would purchase to keep in your Jeep with a front mounted winch?

Thank you.

I bought the old Warn recovery kit that came in a red bag years ago when starting out, it was a good kit IMO, however, I dont like their kits now... the treesavers they use have the stupid metal ends on them (multiple connections when one will do)

If I was buying a kit today I would likely go with the TRE kit https://tacticalrecoveryequipment.com/product/jeep-recovery-gear-kit/ and add a snatch block.

I had a red warn bag as well. Fairly ok kit but a lot of heavy steel in there.

I would get a winch setup from TRE that includes two or three soft shackles, a snatch block, a tree saver, and a strap. That is basically all you will ever need to winch yourself off a tree. You may want to buy a warn steel shackle in case you need to attach to another vehicle. Many recovery points will not accept a soft shackle.

I carried a snatch rope in the TJ for years. I just threw it away this past week since it takes up space and I've never used it a single time. Unless you are out in the mud or sand a lot, I don't think the snatch straps are all that useful.

First thing on the list for most everyone should be a shovel. A real one, not an entrenching tool. I carry both but the entenching tool is for handing to a passenger or mouthy spectator. :)

• Love
Reactions: WSS