Brake help/suggestions

DraykenK

My brakes are starting to go, and trying to decide what to do/get. When I had 33s, I was fine with how the brakes worked. But I'm running 35s now, and they are a lil too weak. I can't remember, but I thought I used to read on some of the forums, a particular brand of brake pads that many people suggested and said they worked much better than the "standard" brake pad.
/
Would I be able to just get these better brake pads and be good enough? I know most will say that I should upgrade my entire setup. If I were to do that, could someone point me to what I would need to get and about how much it would cost? I would much rather just get pads though, lol.

Www.blackmagicbrakes.com provides the magic brake pads and brake kits you asked about. The designer/owner knows more about brakes than mere mortals ever will. I've been running his pads and brake kits for probably 15 years now. His pads will produce a very noticeable braking performance enhancement for 35's, his complete dual piston brake caliper kits provide a startling improvement in braking with 35's.

Last edited:
Reactions: StG58 and DraykenK
@mrblaine (the guy who owns and designs Black Magic Brakes) is a regular on these forums. He's one of the most knowledgeable TJ guys you'll ever meet, and he's a brake guru.

I have been running his 16" big brake kit for over a year and it truly is phenomenal how much of a difference it makes!

With 33" tires you could easily get by with just the Black Magic Brakes. However, at 35" you'll definitely want the big brake kit he offers. The stock brakes are simply not up to the task of stopping 35" tires.

Hopefully Blaine will chime in here. You can also call him using the number on his website. He's a very easy to get ahold of person, and very, very smart.

Reactions: StG58