Changed my first spark plugs today

Since buying the Jeep last year I’ve improved mechanically. I already changed out the radiator and today’s project was installing new spark plugs. I put the new ones in and she starts right up and sounds great. Are there any tells I should be looking for as I drive around that would bring into question my work?

Did you follow any particular posts on this forum? I'm new at this stuff too, so I always enjoy reading how-to posts written by others.

Since buying the Jeep last year I’ve improved mechanically. I already changed out the radiator and today’s project was installing new spark plugs. I put the new ones in and she starts right up and sounds great. Are there any tells I should be looking for as I drive around that would bring into question my work?
Congratulations! It can be very rewarding! I predict you’ll do a lot more in the future.

I noticed the video recommended oil on the threads of the plug. From the good old days I have always used anti-seize. So I researched it a little and found NGK says no lubricant. Getting ready to do my first spark plug change and wondered what you guys think about lubing the threads and the potential to over torque the plugs.

I noticed the video recommended oil on the threads of the plug. From the good old days I have always used anti-seize. So I researched it a little and found NGK says no lubricant. Getting ready to do my first spark plug change and wondered what you guys think about lubing the threads and the potential to over torque the plugs.

NGK, and probably everyone else, puts a little anti-seize on the threads, so no need to use more.

As long as you're aware of the potential to over torque the plugs you should be fine. It's the guys that go at them with everything they've got to make sure they're gudentite that have issues.

Reactions: Ironman