Coil springs bump stop

Matt77

TJ Enthusiast
I'm new at this so those of you that helped so far thank you.

I measured from the bottom of my coil spring to just below the top perch pad. And came up roughly with 3.5". So that's my lift???? Plus I have a 1" body lift. I'm assuming that's the bushings between the rear bumper and and body as well as front bumper and body? IS This correct????

So if I was replacing the front coil springs would I get a 4" spring??? Is a half inch that much????

And is the lift height what I use to determine how to order new top and bottom perch pads/bump stops????

I'm trying to get all this guys, thanks

Stock coil spring heights are 8" in the rear and 12" in the front. Spring heights taller than that is how tall a suspension lift is.
So do I have to take the springs off first to measure them? I'm a newb man. Lol I wasn't really sure. Or do I measure them while they are still on? When I measured the spring while it was on, it measured 15.5" that's the front.

So do I have to take the springs off first to measure them? I'm a newb man. Lol I wasn't really sure. Or do I measure them while they are still on? When I measured the spring while it was on, it measured 15.5" that's the front.

No, you dont have to remove them. If you measured 15.5" that means you have 3.5" of lift. Spring heights can vary depending on your set up. Weight of bumpers, winches, hard tops, ect... add up. Are you looking to replace a damaged spring or at new springs all around?
To measure for bump stops remove the spring and cycle the suspension. Use an appropriate sized bump stop to avoid any interference.

Reactions: Matt77

And is the lift height what I use to determine how to order new top and bottom perch pads/bump stops????