Cold Air Intake Problem

MARC CROMER

Hi all, I have been chasing a possible CAI problem for 2 years and about $1K invested. I am original owner for 2000 TJ (federal vehicle from Colorado). Short story is factory catalytic converter started to rattle at 50K miles. Yes, only 50K on my "baby".

I live in CA now and there are no factory cat available these days, so performance muffler shop installs a generic Catco brand. Well, I have gone through 3 more cats in the past 15K miles and many mechanics + dynomometers all say everything is working fine (no leaks, no lights, trimming out fine) and they don't understand.

Yesterday, took to Jeep dealer. They monitored the O2 sensors and showed me lagging response to changes in airflow.

They claim that my Rock-It brand CAI allows too much airflow for 2000-era software and O2 programs to compensate. This sends too much gas to carburetor and creates a HOT catalytic converter and too hot for aftermarket cat. They say the factory CAI is balanced for the software and exhaust system.

These are seasoned Jeep mechanics with Chrysler diagnostics (not the SnapOn stuff).

1.) What do you think?? I am going to put my factory CAI back on.

Well, I can't say for sure that the cold air intake is your issue, but it has been proven that the filters that many of these air intakes use (i.e. K&N for instance) let more particles and debris into your engine.

The bottom line is that a cold air intake for a TJ is a gigantic waste of money. You won't gain anything from it and you'll wish bringing more contaminants into your engine.

I'd trust the Chrysler mechanics though. If they're telling you to put back on the stock intake, I would heed their advice.

Reactions: Chris S