Control Arm Replacements

Breto31

TJ Enthusiast
Before you guys scorn me, I've looked all over the place for info regarding control arm replacements, and I can't really find the answers to my specific questions, so if we have links or other info just let me know and I'll re-read. Anyway.....

I was looking under my jeep the other day to inspect the bushings and what not, and I noticed that the bushing on the control arms are REALLY bad - probably haven't been changed in 15 years. I looked into the bushing replacements, but it sounds like the best option is to just replace the entire arm(s). I'm no mechanic, but I have some basic skills, so I'd like to replace them all while I'm in there.... I have 2005 Wrangler X with a 4" suspension lift (from the PO) and 33x10.50 BFG KO2. The lift is from Zone I THINK - can't say for sure since it was already on there, and there wasn't anything identifying it aside from a steering stabilizer with ZONE on it (I know that doesn't have anything to do with the lift, but I called Zone, asked some questions, and they told me it sounds like their 4" lift, so here we are). This rig is drive mainly on the road, with some LIGHT off-roading.

1. Is there any reason to go with adjustable vs fixed? The rig has aftermarket fixed ones on there now (presumably came with the lift), and I have no real driving issues - it could be smoother, but I didn't buy it for the ride. Is this just a preference, or is there really a major benefit to upgrading to adjustable vs the fixed ones I have currently? I know adjustable ones allow you to change the angles, but is that really necessary.