Cooper Discoverer AT3 vs Snow

AustinJeepTJ

♪~ ᕕ(ᐛ)ᕗ
Lifetime Supporting Member
I am running Cooper Discoverer AT3's. So far, on the road, forrest roads, out at Reiter Foothills, Walker Valley ORV and Tahuya, they have been great tires. Granted, I have not attempted any mud deeper than about 6inches (that I can tell) or rocks that look like they may reach the rockers. I generally fly solo and don't take too many risks, TBH.

This morning, we went to find some snow out at Reiter Foothills here in Washington. On the main trail road, there was about 10 - 12 inches. This is my first time in the snow with these tires. Initially, I was not impressed. The jeep was very squirrelly.

I get it. Where the rubber meets the road is only part of system. After 20 minutes, or so, I was able to manage a straightish path on the primary roads, moving through 4hi and 4lo, just trying to get a feel for it. After about an hour, we were back to running the lighter trails and making good progress. By this point, I was hoping to get in a position to use the winch where I didn't set myself up. Down side is, I was the only one out at the park. (Which was kinda strange because when I fueled up at Gold Bar, WA, there were a variety of 4x4s on trailers heading the same direction but never showed up at Reiter. I wonder where they all went...)

I think this is a good tire, but they do not eject the snow that gets packed between the treads well. I run Toyo A/T Open Country on my KJ and they spit snow like crazy. Bottom line is, I am on the fence now regarding these Cooper Discoverer AT3s.

Do we have a (opinion driven) rating system for tires on this forum? I'd like to submit for this tire if one exists. Something like:

Scale 1-10
Highway comfort: 8
Road noise: 5
Forrest Road: 9
Trail: 9
Rocks: 4
Snow: 1
Mud: 2
Etc...

Overall: 38/70
Reccomend for daily use, light offroad.

I'm just spitballing.