DIY Bathroom Remodel

I am remodeling a bathroom and could use some advice. The vanity light is on a 15A circuit shared by another room's lights. The receptacle is on a 20A circuit shared by the other bathrooms and fed by a 20A GFCI breaker. I was wanting to install a fan and a light in the shower. I am wondering if they need to be on a GFCI circuit or can they simply be added to the 15A light circuit? And if they need to be GFCI protected, would it be better to run a new 20A circuit to this bath and remove it from the other circuits so that I can have the lights and receptacle on one circuit? The light I bought for the shower is rated for that use and the fan is just a vent, no heater or integrated light fixture. By the way, I am an electronics engineer with 20 yrs experience: 15 yrs in embedded microprocessor systems for missile guidance systems and now I work for Square D designing metering products. I have done some home wiring in the past, but that was before I had designed products that had to go through safety testing (UL 508, IEC 61010-1, etc.) So I am knowledgeable, but still somewhat new to the electrical code, and I just want to do things right so that it will be safe and legal when it comes time to sell the house.

I cant help you but others will jump in here and help, stay tuned

Well right off the bat if you work for Square D you’re going to be around some very experienced electrical people-

Codes vary in different areas- And everything changed dramatically in the last few years thanks to arc fault technology. Check your local guidelines is the universal answer.

In our area wet area fixtures must be GFCI protected, and sometimes electricians will install a separate ground fault device that can be reset to govern the lights/fan
in the shower- This is basically the same function as a GFCI plug without the plug part- and can be mounted at plug elevation anywhere.