Driver side rear roll bar speaker. I dunno.

lovemachine

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
So a couple weeks ago, I replaced the roll bar speakers in my 2005 with Polk Audio DB522's. The reason was the driver side factory speaker was starting to make a "fuzzy staticky" sound. And it became way too annoying.

Well, the noise is back. I had contacted Crutchfield, thinking it was the new Polk Audio speakers. They sent me out another set, but I have to send the bad one back to them. Awesome.

I put the new speaker in last night, and this morning the sound is still there. So it wasn't the speaker making the noise.

I have no idea what it could be. They DID send me a speaker wiring harness, and when I installed it, I made sure the ends were tight on the speaker. I wonder if the connection isn't tight ENOUGH. But I have no idea.

Anyone more knowledgable than me have any ideas? I'm new to this whole audio thing!

I had a problem with to the dome light cover on the driver side vibrating, which sounded like a blown speaker. Look around there something else might be rattling. Or play around with wire connections, adjust fader/balance.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

You could disconnect the harness from the head unit, connect an ohm meter to those speaker wires and start tugging/moving the wire harness from there to the speaker. You may be able to find a damaged spot. If you see any changes from 8 or 4 ohms while jiggling, you've got a winner.

I had a problem with to the dome light cover on the driver side vibrating, which sounded like a blown speaker. Look around there something else might be rattling. Or play around with wire connections, adjust fader/balance.

Same here. I used some foam sealing tape to secure the light cover.

too increase the sound quality from the sound bar, remove the light cover YES IT rattles, second pull speakers and stuff some poly fill in the sound bar. I did both and its night and day for me.