Dunce moment...

AtlWrangler99

TJ Enthusiast
So, I took my TJ to get an oil change and decided to take it to the car wash and wash it myself. I actually did a better job at cleaning it myself than when I pay someone else to wash it. Well anyway upon trying to leave the car wash my baby wouldn't start. So a couple of guys see me having trouble and decide to try and give me a jump. I tell them I had just bought a brand new battery and got a new starter put on three weeks ago so I'm not understanding why it won't start. The guy connects the cable and nothing. Lights and everything are on in the jeep but it won't start, but I keep hearing a "clicking" noise. So the guy figured that maybe his cables are bad. All the while I'm just perplexed why my baby won't start. Well, another guy connects his cables and still nothing. As we are trying to figure out what's going on a third guy pulls up and asks "Are you having trouble I'm a mechanic" I tell him, yeah it won't start and I'm baffled because I have a new battery and starter. He puts the key in the ignition and nothing but the lights are on. So he asks "Do you have an alarm on here?" and I'm like no but the previous owner did put an automatic starter on it but I have never used it to crank the jeep........Y'all why did this guy look at my key ring and there was an unlock button on it. He presses the unlock button, sticks the key in the ignition, turns the switch and she starts right on up. He goes "well it looks like the previous owner put a kill switch on it and you turned the switch on by mistake when you hit the lock button on your key ring"......Can I just say I felt so damn stupid? All this time I thought the buttons on the key ring were for the automatic starter. I'm learning something new every day about Big Red.

[Hoping this thread grows with dunce moments. Here's mine.]