El Viejo, a slow 2006 LJ build

Neal

TJ Enthusiast
Although I bought my Jeep two years ago and started building it right away, I just joined the forum, so I have a bit of catching up to do. I'll try to hit the high points and throw in a few DIY projects that came up along the way. I'm not a mechanic and have almost no welding/fab skills, so most of what I have done has been just bolting on parts that I have purchased. Mostly, I'm building for moderate to occasionally heavy wheeling in the New Mexico/Colorado area (more rocky and sandy than muddy), as well as being a DD. It's a kinda-sorta LCG build, but I'm not going to be a fanatic about it. So, to begin:

In the first week I ordered MetalCloak's Overline fenders, 6" flares, mod cut rear flares, and rock rails. I also ordered 35" Goodyear MT/R/K's on 15x8 MB Razor wheels from Discount Tires. As it happened, the tires showed up first (by 3 days) and, well, I just HAD to put them on, right?

05_zps363e5079.jpg

Yeah, I know. Dumb idea. I couldn't drive over a cigarette butt without the tires rubbing, so the fender flares came off right away. When the stuff from MetalCloak showed up I had to do some body modifications. The mod cut rear flares required some trimming around the rear wheelwell, so I started there.

Cut lines for the rear flares
22_zps262a8b12.jpg

Measure twice, cut once, pray continuously...
25_zpsc2efe3aa.jpg

After removing the front fenders and bolting up the new fenders and flares I needed to cut some holes for the JK turn signals I planned to mount in the grille. I had thought of using CJ turn signals but decided that the JK units were easier to install due to their being 3-wire units that plugged right into the existing connections, rather than modifying the CJ's 2-wire lights.

More prayer... I probably should have removed the fog lights but it worked out all right.
38_zps8790b735.jpg

First stage finished.
69_zpsaecfb118.jpg