Entry / Mid-level Tool Recommendations?

jesseshoots

TJ Enthusiast
I just moved into a new house and got a nice tool chest for the garage. I’ve been working out of an old tool bag for the last four years or so and had to keep a really slim selection. I have an ancient ratchet set and a nice set of Kobalt 3/8” drive sockets.

I’m looking for recommendations on a entry/mid-level (read: not snap-on) socket brand, to fill out my 1/4” and 1/2” selections that are lacking, as well as a nice set of ratchets. The more I research it the more I find available and less I can narrow it down.

I’ve been a longtime fan of the 90T Kobalt stuff but saw today that Husky is offering a 144T set of all three drives for $70 that are getting some pretty good reviews.

Gearwrench stuff is pretty damn good and can be wattantied many places. Grey pneumatics has great socket sets, and spring for an Ingersol Rand 2235 1/2 inch impact. Make sure your compressor will make 140 -160 psi pressure. Your air tools will love it!

Reactions: mrjp
I hope you find what you need. I bought most of my tools in the last century, so I don't have much to offer, but tool thread always catch my attention. If you want to go down a rabbit hole, look for the "Toolkit" thread on ADVRider.

The most recent tools I bought were for mj LJ, and I buy them either at the local auto parts store or Harbor Freight. They're cheap in both price and quality, but I only need them for a one time use.

I'd stick to the Home Depot or Lowes brands so if you have an issue you can easily return/replace.

Gearwrench makes great affordable tools. milwaukee is starting to make impressive hand tools. Tekton makes great tools for the price and has one of the easiest warranties to deal with online.

Reactions: fixmysix
I saw this brand at the 2019 SEMA show and was quite impressed. Yes, it’s made in Taiwan but USA made is harder to find and more expensive.