First time Jeeper

sloan

Hello everyone. I'm a complete noob to jeeps and this forum. I have much to learn. I bought a 1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ. There were several mods already made to it before I bought it and I'm not sure what is a mod and what is stock. I've had jeep on the brain since my friend offered to sell it to me so I am eager to learn but trying to be reasonable about spending (note the word 'trying').

I was glad to see such an informative group here. I'll add more photos later... but for now... Here is my dog approved Jeep! I OWN A JEEP!!!!!
o7pBjSa.jpg

Welcome to the forum! We've got a great bunch of guys here, you'll come to find that.

Can't go wrong with red either, it's my favorite color for a TJ. I'll bet your dogs like riding in it, huh?

Reactions: sloan
Welcome to the forum! First thing to do is a full maintenance; all fluids, plugs, wires, air filter, etc. Check all the front and rear suspension, u joints, front wheel bearings. Once you know she is solid, time to decide what your plans are as far as usage. Then break out the check book :D

Some reading material for ya...

https://wranglertjforum.com/threads/wrangler-tj-fluid-capacities.195/
https://wranglertjforum.com/threads/wrangler-tj-stock-specifications.71/
https://wranglertjforum.com/threads/a-beginners-guide-to-lifting-your-jeep-wrangler-tj.733/

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum! We've got a great bunch of guys here, you'll come to find that.

Can't go wrong with red either, it's my favorite color for a TJ. I'll bet your dogs like riding in it, huh?
They loved it. That was the first thing I bought for the jeep and my dogs.... seat belt lead/harness for them. Took them out for a spin yesterday. I think next buy will be a bikini top for it so they can get more shade. I have a hard top for it but weather is too perfect to not have the top off.
Thanks for the welcome :)

Yep, I can see big dogs like that loving being in a Jeep. That's probably like being in doggy heaven for them!