Flat towing question

Ducati2

Supporting Member
I wish to flat tow my 05 TJ , but I have front lockers and a positrack rear end. I am new to jeeps and wondering if this would be an issue when towing around curves and corners? Any advice appreciated!

I setup the Turtle to flat tow behind my RV.

Turtle, 2006 Jeep Wrangler LJ Rubicon 6sp

RECREATIONAL TOWING

NOTE: The transfer case must be shifted into N (Neutral) for recreational to prevent damage to internal parts.

1. Depress brake pedal.

2. de- press clutch pedal on manual transmission

3. Shift transfer case lever into N (Neutral).

4. Start engine.

5. Shift manual transmission into gear.

6. Release brake pedal and clutch ensure that there is no vehicle movement.

7. Shut engine off, leave in 3rd gear required to maintain trans lubrication, steering wheel lock position ignition to prevent release parking brake.

IMG_0507.jpeg

Last edited:
Reactions: LarryTJ
The ignition should be UNLOCKED, (not ON, to prevent battery drain), to prevent the steering wheel lock from engaging on MTs.

Then release parking brake.

MT can be in any gear, but I'd pick one of the upper gears in case the tcase somehow gets out of N.

Reactions: MOBDOGG
Can you explain that for me? I am definitely not understanding what is written.
Just as JKP TJ Addict wrote see below

“The ignition should be UNLOCKED, (not ON, to prevent battery drain), to prevent the steering wheel lock from engaging on MTs.

MT can be in any gear, but I'd pick one of the upper gears in case the tcase somehow gets out of N.”

The posi rear end isn't an issue.

A selectable front locker wouldn't be either. Need to fill in your profile details.

Just bought the jeep and was told it had front lockers, but how do I know they are ‘selectable’?

I wish to flat tow my 05 TJ , but I have front lockers and a positrack rear end. I am new to jeeps and wondering if this would be an issue when towing around curves and corners? Any advice appreciated!

Automatic transmission