Garage safety

Kathy

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
Ride of the Month Winner
I know Dave would cringe if he knew I was posting this, but seeing I’m new to spending time in a garage working on vehicles I’m realizing how dangerous it can be. From tools, to big welders sanders, grinders, saws, blow torches,chemicals, oils, gas, on and on and on. I feel that Dave is far from safe when doing stuff and being aware of what he shouldn’t be using around certain things and what is putting us or the building at risk of blowing up, etc.. there’s times I walk in there and it smells of some chemical or smoke or god knows what. I’m just waiting for it to blow up.

I’m wondering if there’s any good resources, videos, info that would give me a crash course in dos and don’ts of working in a garage?

:sifone: depends on what kinda 'smoke' you talking about hehe
Aside from human smells :ciappa: the safest things I would recommend would be put things that are combustible in a metal cabinet well away from the working area...you garage is huge so that shouldn't be too much of an issue. (although Dave has probably filled up most of it buy now haha)

Don’t even get me started on him filling it up. I’ve had one meltdown already and spent 2 days organizing the workshop already seeing he had it completely filled and a mess. I couldn’t even stand being in there. That was maybe 2 months ago. And it’s almost back to where it was before. He’s got stuff everywhere . He’s now starting to organize it. I know he has so many solvents and oils and stuff and they are in Cabinets but they aren’t metal. We might need to rethink some of that.

haha in his defence it does take a while to work out how you use the garage and so where to put things....Metal cabinets are as cheap and chips out here...so I'm guessing its the same out there too. (it would be a good start)

Yes, that’s exactly what he says. He needs to figure out where everything needs to go. Thanks for the tips !