Going to see a TJ for first Jeep

P4ddyC4ke

Hello All,

New Member here. I am going to see a '97 4.0 TJ Wrangler Sport this weekend. This would be my first Jeep / 4x4. We have a handshake no haggle take or leave it price negotiated as of today. I am mechanically inclined. Here's what I know...

245,000 miles on Odometer but Has a Jasper Remanufactured engine and AX15 Transmission with about 40,000 miles on it, with pictures of the paper work when installed.
35x12.50R15 tires. 2 new Cooper Evolution, needs 2 tires in the front
Rouge Country Lifted Suspension - I'm new to jeeps so I don't know the amount
All Control arm Bushings changed
Brush Guard Front Bumper
Rear Tire Mount/Bumper w/ Hitch Receiver
Newer full soft top
Full Size Doors
Tall Jack with hood mount
Snorkel Kit
Pictures look to be rust free in the frame and floor boards
Body has dings and scratches / peeling, didn't seem to have bubbling.
AC not Working

What else should I look for when I go to see it?

Thank you for your patience.

-P4ddy

281083216_10224763022560545_1607352709135297901_n.jpg

281131676_10224763023800576_5109338064448229815_n.jpg

281202100_10224763022120534_8952729699426106698_n.jpg

281298531_10224763023840577_2627786752731801779_n.jpg

Last edited:
Welcome.

#1 = start at the frame. Exterior rust doesn't mean as much as interior rust. Reach your fingers inside the larger holes and feel around. Surface rust is okay, but those frames can rust away to almost nothing internally without looking too bad outside. The steel should be thick and solid.
#2 = walk away or keep looking based on #1

The way it drives will tell you a lot about the lift. It takes a lot of joints in good condition to make it drive tight and stable. If it's loosey-goosey, there could be one or a dozen things to fix.