Good for a first time driver?

Nicelil97

Hey everyone. I thought who better than to answer this question. I'm new to Jeeps and picked up a '97 Sahara. I needed a new commuter anyway and my daughter will need a car in a couple of years. We both love Jeeps so I thought what better way to evaluate if it will be a good car for her as a first time driver than buy one and enjoy it while I "evaluated" it. It's exactly what I was looking for, bone stock and low miles - it only had 46k on it and it's almost cherry. I'll do trails but no rock crawling and she can lift it if she wants later, I expect it will be a mall crawler for awhile. I'm using it as a daily driver to shake it down, it isn't a great commuter but the minor issues are overcome by what a great car it is, I seriously love it. I've got the minor mechanical issues sorted, I wanted to ask this forum your opinion on it's suitability for a first time driver and what, if anything, would you do to make it any better for what she will need it for? Thanks in advance.

Jeep.jpg

Ok, here's my take -

The Jeep is a peach .

First time vehicle ? Yes and no .

They are simple , practical and fun , but a TJ reacts quick to driver input , so they steer quick . If she's a focused , conservative driver , she will be fine .

Now the rest of the story - everybody wants to ride in the Jeep. That means 5-6 kids pile in , and your insurance is covering the whole gang. Take the top off and teens run to it .

Next is her boyfriend ...and if she doesn't have one , she will when she gets the jeep . Maybe several .

What you do is meet the little perverts at the door .

Say " Do you see that gorgeous little thing ? She better be treated with respect and care" ...then go on and tell them about your daughter too.

Tell them you ain't afraid to GO BACK to prison .

My guess is by the time she is old enough to drive you will have it running a 4" lift on 33's and be looking for her a Hyundai.