Got another TJ

Dante

Hi E'rebody,

Just bought my 3rd Jeep, 2nd TJ. My Dad said he was considering selling his TJ, so I told him to sell it to me as soon as I unload my YJ (which I had been restoring since 2015 ~6 years). He waited, I bought it, and re-registered (my old username was Buck94 - for the YJ).

I'm kinda going back to square one with a mostly stock Jeep after modding my ol' YJ, but the repair list is much shorter for this TJ because it has very low mileage. Dad bought it with a lift (looks like a 4") and 33s on it. I put my 33x12.5x15 tires & wheels on his TJ and sold my YJ with his wheels. Dad had the side steps lowered by local welding shop...guess what? They welded the steps to the frame (smh). I cut them off. I have some things to repair and some mods to do to this thing....Here's what I'm thinking so far:
  • I feel a slight shimmy in the steering wheel, which I assume will become a death wobble if I don't fix it soon.
  • The brakes are squeaky...I think a shoe is rubbing in the rear drum. The noise stops after a short bit of driving...I'll be replacing all the brakes/rotors/drums later.
  • Radiator - It is fine, but we get hot in NorCal during the summers and I want a radiator that keeps the engine cooler than the stock ones. I had an aluminum 3-core radiator in my YJ that worked great. Got it on Amazon, was not a Mishimoto, but it works great, so I'll get another.
  • Front bumper is stock, I removed the ends. I will be replacing that front bumper with something more aggressive and a winch.
  • Rock sliders - essential for keeping the body straight (she's a creampuff, I'm gonna keep her that way)
  • SYE - I had one on the YJ and it was great. The TJ doesn't vibrate or anything, but I hate seeing that transfer case hanging so low.
  • Lockers - I may just get the super Dana35 kit for the rear...undecided on the front.
  • Seats - at the very least, I need a driver's seat. Shooting for a Corbeau or a set of them.