Hello From Mt. Pleasant TX

CDE

Hello Everyone,

I am a new Jeep owner from Mt Pleasant TX. This is my first Jeep Wrangler (I also have a 2WD 2016 Cherokee) so I am pretty new to the scene. It's a 2004 X Model with 109k miles. The first vehicle I ever owned was a 1978 Toyota FJ40 when I was 14 years old, but life happened and I had to get rid of it shortly after (didn’t even get to drive it legally on the road). Ever since, most of my playing in the dirt has been on 2 wheels, but I am eager to start wheeling this TJ. I took it to the Ouachita Mountains last week and had a blast. I plan on another trip to Big Bend National Park later this year (went 3 weeks ago and it inspired this Jeep purchase).

I traded my truck to a dealership for the Jeep. They were pretty clueless as to what mods had been done. From the build sheet, it appears it was equipped with 3.73 gears. I managed to determine it has a 4” Rough Country Suspension Lift based on the part number on the shocks. It also has a Rough Country steering stabilizer and 33x12.5x15 Dunlop Mud Rovers. Beyond that I’m not entirely sure what has been done. It was last in Avinger TX and before that in Canyon TX, so if anyone knows the Jeep and any details about what has been done to it, I would greatly appreciate the information.

Here are some pics. If you spot anything that looks aftermarket, let me know.

07gGqrX.jpg

jPKkETr.jpg

Ipz0oF9.jpg

zXYTjDH.jpg

oi5ZZNc.jpg

gPsEQDu.jpg

mQrx1m5.jpg

z5nPcM5.jpg

qbhL9e6.jpg

cfbbTMy.jpg

u9rsuha.jpg

xHuCxpI.jpg

Last edited:
Looks good. The RC springs would be fine, the shocks generally suck. But if you find the ride ok, that's up to you whether to change them or not. Not sure why the dual steering stabilizer is on there, no Jeep really needs more than one, unless it's trying to mask another steering issue. A lot of people try to fix steering issues with new steering stabilizers, but they don't fix anything. Nice bumpers, wheels, and tires. Welcome to the TJ world!