Hello from Oshkosh, WI

Katuhstrofik

Kat in a Space Suit
Supporting Member
New 1999 Jeep Wrangler owner. Located in Oshkosh, WI. I'm 29 and I work as a metal worker.

Wanted a Jeep since I was a kid, and I finally got one. I picked this up for $2,000 (yeah I know). Has the 4.0 with about 200k miles on it. When I went to start it the battery was dead (it had been sitting 9-12 months I guess), so I went to Walmart and splurged on a new battery with a 5 year warranty and put it in the Jeep. Starter barely turned once before the Jeep came roaring to life, no blue or white smoke! Sounds like a wailing banshee right now, I think the fan belt needs to be tightened, or perhaps it could be a symptom of the exhaust being in such rough shape. Overall the Jeep seems to be in incredible shape for what I paid, even the body has minimal rust on it for being a Wisconsin Jeep and being 20 years old. Haven't looked too closely at the under carriage yet but that seems to be in pretty good shape as well. Will definitely be scrubbing/blasting the rust off and salt/water proofing it. From what I can tell, after the few things below are fixed, it's a $6-7,000 Wrangler. A pretty sweet steal if you ask me.

Things I know I need to fix are:

-Exhaust (going to replace the entire system)
-Brake lines
-The belt (if adjusting the tension doesn't work)
-It also currently has an issue with the tail lights not lighting up. Fuse looks fine, so I will mess with the wiring in the tail light housing and see if I can find a short or something. I also saw a dude on YouTube put WD-40 in the fuse socket for the tail lights, and that worked somehow lol.

Other stuff I'll be doing right away:
Removing AC compressor (AC doesn't work anyways and I never understood why Jeeps come with AC in the first place)
Parting out stock seats for something minimalist, think along the lines of what military Humvees have for seating.