Help finding a good jack

hajasj

Hey guys,

So I’ve been hearing that the hi-lift jacks you can mount to your hood/spare tire carrier are not very practical and barley used on trails. That being said, what kind of jack do you usually bring on the trails or would recommend? Something that I can take with me and isn’t super heavy or big but something I can use to help any problems I run into on trails. Appreciate the help!!

Have you met your factory telescoping screw jack that lives under the passenger seat?

• Haha
Reactions: billiebob
Have you met your factory telescoping screw jack that lives under the passenger seat?
Sadly when I bought my Jeep the previous owner said he lost it..... don’t really know how you lose it but oh well

Easy: you throw it away and get a useless Hi-Lift!

Check the local yards; stock jacks are cheap.
Will the stock jack work if my Jeep is lifted 3” and has 33” tires? I have no experience with the stock jack seeing as I never had one haha

Will the stock jack work if my Jeep is lifted 3” and has 33” tires? I have no experience with the stock jack seeing as I never had one haha
This is the factory jack lifting a 35" tire. If you need more height or more stable ground then carry a couple short lengths of 4x4 wood blocks with you.
35OnOEjack.jpg

That reminds me: I need to make a drill adapter for my stock jacks! How'd I forget that I was going to do that?! They go up SO fast that way...

You've been threatening to make an adapter for years. And I've been thinking about making one for myself for about as long.

Doesn’t someone sell a bottle jack with more of a half moon 🌙 cup support?

Yeah, high lifts are not safe. I still have one from early wheeling days. Had to lift the back of my cousins 66 gladiator once because his lift blocks( another bad idea) broke. Jack literally started ratcheting itself down! Luckily no one was underneath, but talk about leaving a skid mark. After that no one used the high lift :oops:

Reactions: hajasj