Help me interpret these frame pictures

thomat65

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
Hello!

What do you guys think about these pictures of an '05 Rubicon (not unlimited) with 230k miles? Looks better than others I've seen, but I'm a newbie.

Thanks!

474d200047991558a73192e14f9dcfbb.0.jpg
4d5aab339d98788924ec5e95136836a8.0.jpg
870fd03b4777624f47b7bf423ae63d2b.0.jpg
cca10dc887dd07519045b6488b67ab88.0.jpg

I am not an expert...... but the waves the the mating surface of the skid plate has me wanting to check the inside of the frame.

It is really easy to paint a turd. I would definitely spend the few bucks for a scope that will plug into your phone. Best $40 you can spend. I have used mine many times. Once to find a socket in the frame. Does good looking in tight spaces.

DEPSTECH Wireless Endoscope, IP67 Waterproof WiFi Borescope Inspection 2.0 Megapixels HD Snake Camera for Android and iOS Smartphone, iPhone, Samsung, Tablet -Black(11.5FT) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01MYTHWK4/?tag=wranglerorg-20

the waves the the mating surface of the skid plate has me wanting to check the inside of the frame.

I was kind of wondering about that, too. Wanted someone else to point it out first though.

I would definitely spend the few bucks for a scope that will plug into your phone.

Good idea. I've actually already got one.

This is a Southern Jeep, though, and I'm way up North. I wonder what the seller would think if I shipped them a scope and asked for pictures inside the frame haha! Maybe they'd be more inclined if I made sure it was a nice scope and told them they could keep it.

It looks sprayed, and there’s enough texture to suggest the others are right - scope the inside and places that would be harder to paint (like the top of the skid plate, top of the frame rails, cross members, etc)

I see some potential spots of concern, but it's far from the worst I've seen.