Help with engine codes

Plumber1

Tito's, Tacos and Trails
Supporting Member
So my check engine light came on, so I borrowed a scanner and got the P0456 code. Looks as this in something to do with the Evap system. Also not sure what this other screen is telling me ? HRT, DTC, Pd DTC. I am no mechanic so any help would be appreciated

Thanks

IMG_9572.jpg

IMG_9573.jpg

Reactions: Wranglerfix
dtc means diagnostic troublecode , pdc means means pending code, it is about to throw another -that scanner may show it too - hrt is heater readiness test - this means the pcm is not firing up an o2 sensor to preheat it - the hrt may be pending

the post above is correct, and make sure it wasn’t fueled up running by someone-

Yours is low mileage so I doubt it is serious - I’m tagging @Wranglerfix because he will know if these are indicative of pcm failure - it was on mine - the pcm was not telling the sensor to test . A scanner will really educate you - worth the investment. I may get a Bosch eventually, or just not get 04-06 models😩😂

The highest priced Zurich scanner at harbor freight can read live data and may be able to trigger the evap system , and it is only 159.00 I think - I just got one - handy with an 04-06 . Mine was throwing out more codes than a hungover building inspector with a bad attitude. The evap system is plumbing , no joke- and can be the pump, the purge valve or a hose- or the pcm is behind both possibly , but I may be wrong on the possibility of that.

Good luck, please keep us posted so we learn too.

Last edited:
There is a TSB that California acknowledges on certain late model TJs- the 02 sensors are governed by the ASD Relay - automatic shutdown - if the key is turned in but it isn’t cranked in a certain time frame the asd kicks in , it is a security feature-this kills the o2 sensors as they preheat , and triggers a code - the TSB shows how to bypass it -