How to verify if a TJ is a Rubicon

SteamRollin

New noob here with a quick question? Is there a way to verify that a TJ is a Rubicon? I’m looking at a 2003 that doesn’t appear to be a Rubicon from its markings but the owner insist it is one. Is there a spot on the VIN that identifies if it’s a Rubicon? Thank you in advance!

Reactions: abe abel
You could use the vin to get a build sheet. Or if the jeep is close by see if it has a Dana 44 in the front with 2 hoses going to each axle (one breather one to activate the locker) and check the data tag on the transfer case, see if it says Nv241.

The axles and the transfer case are what make a regular TJ into a Rubicon.

There must have been a time
when we could have said no.

Reactions: KCsTJ and billiebob
A Rubicon comes with an OE locker switch on the dash and both axles will have air hoses connected to them, the compressors are mounted on the transfer case skidplate just behind/below the transfer case.

This is what the OE Rubicon locker switch looks like. Those two orange locker switches on the side were added after I rewired the entire locker circuit, I no longer use the OE switch.

Locker Switches 2.JPG

Reactions: PapaJeep and FTI76
A Rubicon comes with an OE locker switch on the dash and both axles will have air hoses connected to them, the compressors are mounted on the transfer case skidplate just behind/below the transfer case.

This is what the OE Rubicon locker switch looks like. Those two orange locker switches on the side were added after I rewired the entire locker circuit, I no longer use the OE switch.

View attachment 49409
Are you running ARB? I thought you ran Detroit in the rear. Just curious!

Dana 44 front. Air lockers front and rear with locker switches as Jerry posted. Rubicon’s have a 4” flare vs a 3” flare. They have diamond rockers. And if they have the stock wheels. They have 16” wheels. 4.10:1 gears and a 4:1 transfer case.