I4 reliability?

Dom

Anyone of you with an i4 wanna chime in on the reliability of a i4 with 150k+ miles? If it were the i6 I'd say it's barley broken in but I'm new to the i4 engine and will being looking at a 97 tj i4 5 speed with 162k miles just curious how much more life I can expect out of this little i4 before having to swap another in.

TIA

@Rob5589, @TJ4Jim and @StG58 are just a few of the members here who have 4 bangers.

I don't own one, but I've been around long enough to know that they are just as reliable as the 4.0 engines.

You won't have any issues getting a 4 banger to 300k. It will be electronics, seals, etc. that fail long before the engine internals do.

Of course this assumes that the 4 cylinder in question has been responsibly owned and properly maintained (the same goes for any engine).

Thanks Chris that's about what I wanted to know :) I'm not big on taking pics but I found a pic of my mj a buddy took. I know you .mentioned wanting to see a pic

FB_IMG_1473946623321.jpg

Reactions: UpperMI and Chris
The 4 banger is practically a 4.0 with two cylinders missing. Very reliable. Normal wear and tear items like water pumps, pulleys, hoses, etc. You can tell a lot by the sounds under the hood and the exhaust. Have a look at the interior. It tells you a lot how the previous owner took care of it.

For instance; I drove a long way (and $120 worth of ferry fares) to look at a 2000. The story had an older woman owning for 13 years and low mileage. When I got there, the interior was sh*t, seats torn, and it looked tired and beat everywhere. I didn't think you could trash a vehicle that badly in 16 years. The same day, I checked out a 2001 (same everything) and it was in far better condition. All original interior in great shape, no rust, and just needed some maintenance items. Sometimes you need to step back if your not sure.

Reactions: Jerry Bransford