Is there a way to wire headlights to turn off when you turn off the ignition?

Don Snelgrove

Supporting Member
Hey Guys, I just got back into Jeeps after owning a newer Bimmer. Seems every time I use my Jeep at night I forget to turn the lights off. Is there a way to wire the headlights so when the Jeep is off my headlights are off ? I looked for some kind of "auto on-off" kit but couldn't find that either. I know I'l get some shit about forgetting to turn them off but.....once you get used to auto on-off in a newer car it's kinda easy to do (and I'm old now too. lol Thanks

There's a way, no doubt about it. It would just take some electrical knowledge and know-how, of which I am no electrical expert.

So yes, it is possible, though I don't think anyone has ever done it to my knowledge. If you're good with electronics, it would be easy to follow the factory wiring diagrams in the FSM and figure it out.

I mean my unknowledgeable mind says you can use a relay but that would also make it so the headlights can't turn on when the car is off. But then again you could just run another wire after the relay. There's a much neater way to do that....

Reactions: Chris
Disclaimer: I have not verified this will work.

This is how I would do it. It would be a fun experiment:

Your headlight switch will have a main wire that's connected HOT all the time and should be the wire that supplies all the power to the lighting system. It would be the big red wire as shown below.

This setup would energize the relay only when the key is on. So as long as your headlight switch was ON, they would only illuminate when the key was on. You would still be able to turn them ON and OFF, but turning off the key would cut power to the relay and turn everything off.

Screenshot from 2018-10-17 17-09-37.png

I would buy an automotive relay and harness like this one — https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C0SATHE/?tag=wranglerorg-20

I would then, using the below relay diagram connect as follows: