Is this rust really bad?

Dyl

Hello all,

I'm new to off roading and looking to buy a wrangler TJ. Really excited for that!

There's this jeep that I'm quite keen but there's some rust. I only have some pics and won't be able to inspect it personally as it's in a different state.

I'm looking for advice from experienced people here reg if that rust is really bad or can be repaired?

Thanks guys. Sorry photos didnt get uploaded due to size. Here we go..
IMG_20022021_145920_(2560_x_1440_pixel).jpg
IMG_20022021_150030_(2560_x_1440_pixel).jpg

Reactions: tworley
Technically , all rust is bad. Good rust, good cancer, good VD is just hard to find.

At a glance, no that doesn't look terrible, but it tells me you need to look a lot closer and at the right places.

Also, you used the word keen. Just pointing that out. I'd probably wait 15-16 posts in before I laid that one on everybody.

gas skid rust isn’t hard to deal with...just get a new skid. However, there aren’t any pics of the frame, and I’m guessing there is serious rust there. I’d run far away.

I see. The problem is this is in a auction site so I don't think asking more photos will work and then the auction ends tomorrow. Ok I guess I'll have to keep looking.

It cost me $2500 to get my frame repair for both sides from the rear control arm mount to the front mount. It’s scheduled for next month. Rust can be very expensive. Do your due diligence and check!

Bless you guys man. We had a little salt used lately , and I'm out there with a frozen hose in 28 degree or less weather trying to wash it off ... thinking about you guys, all the salt, all winter. I really do respect that you guys push back.

Reactions: SD2001TJ
Hello all,

I'm new to off roading and looking to buy a wrangler TJ. Really excited for that!

There's this jeep that I'm quite keen but there's some rust. I only have some pics and won't be able to inspect it personally as it's in a different state.