James & The Sahara Build Thread

JamesAndTheSahara

TJ Addict
Supporting Member
Hello everyone! I was a long time lurker and finally decided to join the forum. I have been a member of other forums, but really like the vibe that exists here. I will be starting a log or "Build Thread" of everything that occurs with my jeep from here on.

Short Introduction of myself: I am a student at Auburn University (You can tell this will be a budget build hahaha) studying Computer Science. I purchased this TJ after selling my motorcycle in the summer of 2016 from a dealership in atlanta for next to nothing. When I bought the TJ it had the original soft top on it (Torn and all) and was nearly bone stock. The only modifications the previous owner did was purchase an ARB Deluxe Front Bumper (You rock!) and a really crappy roof rack that after the ride home I ended up getting rid of it :D.

Here is what I have done to the Jeep up until now:

1998 Jeep Wrangler TJ Sahara W/ Stock Suspension, Dana 30/35 3.07 5MT.
  • Replaced all of the stock Audio Equipment is Polk MM Speakers and installed a Pioneer 8700BHS.
  • Replaced the tattered old carpet with Bedrug Front & Rear Carpet.
  • Replaced the crappy Rally Spread Lights that came with the TJ for a set of KC Fog's I found on Craigslist for free.
  • Replaced the original MOPAR soft top with a 1998 TJ Tan hardtop with factory tint and equipment.
  • Installed a Gobi Roof Rack w/ Quick Release & Two ladders.
  • Installed a set of JW Speaker 8700 Evolution 2 Headlights.
  • Installed a 40" Cheapo Light bar I found on Amazon for next to nothing.
  • Installed GraBars for the Driver and Passenger.
  • Installed a MOPAR TJ Add-A-Trunk I found on ebay for $50.00.
  • Installed a set of WeatherTech Front Floor Liners
  • Wrapped my Steering Wheel and some other interior pieces with 550 Paracord, cheapo version of a steering wheel cover and quite like it!