Jeep TJ Transmission Cooling Hose Failure while Driving- Hose, Fluid & Replacement Process Recommendations?

Landrand

A few days ago, my 2005 Jeep Wrangler Sport TJ sprung a leak in the transmission cooler lines while I was driving. I was going about 20 MPH when I noticed I no longer had power. At first I thought I might have broken a U-joint, but further inspection revealed transmission fluid covered the front underside of the vehicle. The hose failed and fluid was shooting out. I shut the engine off after discovering the issue.

Do you think I may have damaged my transmission due to the loss of fluid? Can you provide recommendations on my next steps that I should follow to replace hoses and transmission fluid? I'm not a mechanic, but I should be able to handle this repair with a little guidance from the experts. After calling several auto parts stores, it appears regular 3/8" bulk hose lineis all they sell. They don't have a regular hose assembly for the Jeep. Thanks for your help and I look forward to hearing your recommendations on how I should proceed to fix this issue.

I've had that issue and used this 3/8" hose splice to fix it. I went to a hydraulic hose shop to buy a better quality high-temperature hose that would better stand up to the sometimes hot ATF. I actually carry two splices and a short length of that hose just in case since if it happened once it can happen again. You can get the brass hose splice at nearly any hardware store including Lowe's and Home Depot.
splice.JPG

Reactions: mipa and Landrand
The current hose appears to be an assembly with a metal part where it bends to go into the radiator. The hose broke next to the metal part. I'll take another look tonight to verify.

Your '05 should have the quick disconnect trans line fittings. If you can't find the whole trans line assembly, a couple options you can do (considering the hose broke close to the metal) is: