Jeep won't start

Mason_K1

Hey yall, I'm new to the site and I'm having trouble with my jeep starting. It's a 2000 Jeep Wrangler 4.0. I read through a few of the treads regarding starting issues but didn't really see this specific issue. It ran yesterday just fine, but when I cranked it today it would just keep turning over, trying to crank but it wouldn't. The battery was reading slightly low so I charged it for a while and then tried to crank it again. It read normal amps but still just kept turning over. I changed the spark plugs maybe 2-3k miles ago and made sure they were properly gapped but could spark plugs be the problem? The Jeep doesn't make any clicking noises at all and after attempting to crank it, it slightly smelled like fuel. If I hit the gas while holding the key in the crank position, it sounded like it would ignite but then it would quickly shut off again. I'm by no means an expert at anything automotive so I'm trying to learn (hopefully I've explained this decently), but if y'all have any advice I'd greatly appreciate it. If I need to clarify anything or re-explain anything, please let me know and I will try. Thanks in advance everyone, I appreciate it.

Do you have fuel pressure hopefully not a fuel pump? My 99 I can check pressure under the hood driver side valve.Maybee Cranshaft position sensor.
I dont know much but these were the two issues I had. Same symptom as you.
Good luck.

Do you have fuel pressure hopefully not a fuel pump? My 99 I can check pressure under the hood driver side valve.Maybee Cranshaft position sensor.
Good luck.
Thanks for these suggestions. I'll definitely check both tomorrow morning and see how it goes

Good luck.
yea i was thinking the same thing. when you turn the key on do you hear the fuel pump come on in the tank ? if so, remove a plug and check for spark. fuel pump aint too bad just changed mine yesterday due to a faulty sending unit, took about 3 hrs. new pump was about $150