Just a little bit of introverted insurance—a modified come along?

ballpark

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I love my TJ.

Here is how I use my TJ:
  • Daily Driver. I drive it every day. I drive it in a Michigan winter but wash it a lot. I have the top off as much as possible in the summer.
  • Being a mechanical engineer I find things to fix on my TJ and could not be more happy working on my jeep in the garage.
  • Helping someone stuck in snow, occasional off roading. I would like to enjoy trails but there is no where to go where i live.
  • I have with me at all times, a 20ft kinetic rope, 20ft recovery strap, shackles, hitch pin, front tow hooks, tools, soft shackle.
With respect to off-roading:
  • I have open diffs, a 2 inch lift, and 31's. Not any different than stock.
  • I don't like clubs (because of bad experiences with the whole tread lightly thing)
  • In 2 years, I have had the jeep on trails 3 times. In SW Michigan, I have to drive 45 min just to find basic two tracks. There is little around me.
  • I am not a fan of mud. I go through it to get through it. I don't seek it. Point being, I am conservative.

I like to off road alone or with my family. I know this can be a really bad idea, but for us, its about fun destinations rather than the journey.

A winch:
I love the safety factor of having a winch. I hate the idea of buying a $500 + piece of equipment on my front bumper, to be destroyed in a matter of years by Michigan salt, and being lucky to be used a few times a year. I feel like I would be throwing away money.

The king of come-alongs:
Wyeth Scott- love the synthetic. Love the quality. Hesitant about the physical size, and the cost is the same a a winch. Also the 35ft, which is a good start. The 2 ton version, is the same size as the 3 ton, so its cheaper, but still takes up valuable trunk space.

The $50 4 ton come-along.