Long arm vs adjustable short arm worth the $$$?

04TJustin

Thinking about upgrading to the rough country long arm kit but it's about $900 worth the extra money? Will I have to get new shocks too? As mine sits right now when flexed out shocks come off plates a little what do you think??

I have no personal experience with them, but most people suggest staying away from Rough Country.

I don't see any stats about your Jeep. What is your current suspension set up?

What type of trails do you run?

Currently running a 4" teraflex adjustable short arm with Rancho 9000 adjustable shocks. Mostly crawler. 33x12.50x15 Goodyear mtx w/ Kevlar.

Sent from my HTC6535LVW using Tapatalk

What's your ultimate end goal with the Wrangler? Full time off road or just occasional off road?

Also, stay away from rough country. Anyone who has been in the game long enough will tell that their stuff is completely garbage (which it is).

DD and a bad ass crawler.

A short arm is more than sufficient in that case. Personally I wouldn't bother with a long arm unless it's a a dedicated off road rig.

It's already got everything I want besides possibly a long arm kit, intake and exhaust. it's already got ARB lockers front and rear, SYE , 1/4" thick skids from the front of the pan to the end of the t-case Dana 44 rear, 4.56 gears and reinforced roll cage. It's a crawler and does fine on the roads but sometimes I get a bad wobble at around 45mph that goes away after 50mph. I heard long arm kits make for a better on and off road drive. But is it a noticeable$1000 difference?

It's ultimately up to you. You I'll get more flex out of it and off road capability for sure, but it will cost more.