Looking for advice on lift, shocks, etc.

Michaelp3257

I need the help of the suspension gurus. I’m mechanically inclined in regards to the drivetrain and I work on jet engines for a living, which I know is different, but I started on car engines so the knowledge is there in that regard. Now to get off my soap-box.

I inherited/saved a very important Jeep from being sold to someone not in my wife’s family. The Jeep was her brothers before he passes away and their family didn’t want to sell it, but it was just sitting in their driveway so I convinced them if they were going to sell it to sell it to me. This however leads me to this post, I don’t know much about what is already on the Jeep. I know it’s lifted.

I owned a 97 TJ Sprt prior to this one, so I have most of the Jeep basics down but I stil struggle with lifts and shocks etc.

Yesterday I posted about people running six pack shocks and quite a bit of eye opening feedback on them. I have since decided to look at something more conventional like ranchos. My questions are is there a good way to find out my lift size? I entered the model number for my current shocks which are the original rancho 5000’s and according to their website it has a 3.5 inch shock on there. I’m not familiar with how to measure springs. Which leads me to next question-are the rear springs different length than the front springs? From my quick measurements earlier than rear shocks are significantly shorter than the front?

As far as lifts go-should I go higher up to 4-4.5? I know I’ll have to do SYE etc. the biggest I plan on running in the future would be 35’s but I’m pretty happy with 33’s for now. I wheel it hard, but I still enjoy driving it. My wife particularly enjoys going for rides as it was her brothers.

Last question-is it possible to piece together a lift rather than buying a kit.