Minimalist Overlanding / Camping Ideas?

bedhed

TJ Enthusiast
Supporting Member
I have this mini camper build that I have been building onto for several years now.
PicsArt_02-04-10.29.20.jpg

Complete frame-up build, and it's gotten very close to being useable.
But, I've run into some health issues, so it's progress has slowed. I'm itching to get out in the woods and I'm trying to think of ways to make use of the TJ for camping trips.

I've got the slide-out in the cargo area, so the "bed" can be extended. I've looked around at rooftop tents for many years, but that's not something I'm looking to do. Minimal load, but effective.

Anyone else have a setup like I'm describing, or have some ideas?

In my LJ I am able to get everything except my tent behind the rear seat by using a short rack to create two levels.

See: https://wranglertjforum.com/threads/diy-interior-cargo-rack-for-lj.10707/

I use two Frontrunner "Cub Pack" boxes, one for the camp kitchen and the other as a Jeep Box for jack, tire tools, and other large tools. Everything else is in cordura bags from Blue Ridge Overland Gear. I typically use a Kodiak Canvas "swag" tent with built-in foam mattress for solo trips or a Kodiak Canvas 6.5x8 Flexbow tent for longer camps or when I have company. Whichever tent I take is typically carried on the rear seat.

I used the same basic setup on a recent 3 1/2 week overlanding trip in Baja California, albeit in an Xterra rather than a Jeep. It was quick to set up camp and quick to strike.
Gear ready for packing 05 05 19.jpg
Packed and ready to go 05 05 19.jpg
Front Runner drop down table.jpg
View out rear window with gear packed 05 05 19.jpg
Campsite near Bear Trap Basin, Stanislaus National Forest, Calaveras County CA - July 2019.jpg
Campsite at Guadalupe Canyon 1.jpg
Campsite in Fort Bragg 08 16 2019.jpg